Find a way to take bitcoin that fits how you sell and where you are. Every option is checked against the provider’s own pages, with the date we checked.
How do you sell?
Where is your business?
Already use one of these?
Shopify plugins in Europe and the UK
From the providers on this page. Listings in the official Shopify App Store first.
STRIKE - Pay with BitcoinStrike · In the official storeFree. Lightning QR at checkout, paid to you as cash.
BTCPay Server Shopify V2BTCPay Server · Not in the official storeAn app you deploy on your own BTCPay Server (v2.0.6 or later), not in the Shopify App Store. V1 is closed to new users.
8 ways to take bitcoin in person in Europe and the UK
In order of setup: quickest first, then no technical work, then built into what you may already use, then A to Z. No one pays to be listed or for their place.
1
Blink
A free bitcoin wallet from El Salvador with a browser cash register, a printable pay QR and a WooCommerce plugin, so a shop can take Lightning payments on any phone.
Setup
Minutes · ID check depends on how you use it
Fees
No fee to receive over Lightning
You get paid in
You receive bitcoin
Who holds the money
Your own wallet, or an account the provider holds
Where
Most countries. In the U.S., self-custody mode only
Details and sources
How it works
Free Point of Sale (cash register) web app at pay.blink.sv/username, opened on any phone, tablet or laptop; staff can take payments without access to funds. Blink Terminal browser POS adds thermal receipt printing and Bolt Card NFC tap-to-pay on Android. Printable static QR paycode that never expires.
Setting up
No KYC to create an account: a phone number that can receive SMS (or WhatsApp) is enough. Custodial transaction limits depend on account level, country and regulation; higher levels require an upgrade. Non-custodial accounts have no Blink limits.
All fees as published
Receiving over Lightning: no service fee (sender pays routing). Blink to Blink: no fee. On-chain deposits and withdrawals: a fixed fee that varies by amount plus mining fees. Bitcoin to Dollar Balance transfers: spread applies. Exact amounts are shown in the app, not published as fixed numbers. No published fee for the POS or WooCommerce plugin.
Getting paid
Payments land in the merchant's Blink account in bitcoin, or in the Dollar Balance (USD value: Stablesats in Custodial Mode, USDB stablecoin on Spark in Non-Custodial Mode) where available. POS can show amounts in any currency. No bank payout of local currency found on Blink pages.
Limits
Custodial Mode transaction limits depend on account level, status, country and regulation (shown in app). Some features may not yet be available in Non-Custodial Mode or in some jurisdictions.
Hardware
none needed (any phone, tablet or laptop browser); optional thermal receipt printer and Android NFC for Bolt Cards via Blink Terminal
Countries
Usable in most countries. Blocked: Belarus, China, Cuba, Iran, North Korea, Russia, Syria, Crimea and other sanctioned regions. US residents and US Persons (incl. Puerto Rico): Non-Custodial Mode only, no Custodial Mode or API. Custodial mode is being phased out in some unlicensed jurisdictions. Dollar Balance only in supported countries. Strong community use in El Salvador, Guatemala, Honduras, Peru and several African countries.
Not confirmed
On-chain fees are shown only in the app, not published.
No bank payout in local currency found on Blink pages.
A hosted bitcoin payment service with plugins for many web shops and a browser POS, sending each payment straight to your own Lightning wallet for a 1% fee.
Setup
Minutes · ID check depends on how you use it
Fees
1% per payment
You get paid in
Bitcoin or local money, your choice
Who holds the money
Payments go to your own wallet
Where
Anywhere
Details and sources
How it works
Browser-based Bitcoin Point of Sale on any phone, tablet or laptop (keypad or product selection, QR code). Coinsnap wallet app for Android (APK) and iOS beta.
Setting up
Sign-up needs an email address and a Lightning wallet, under three minutes if you already have a wallet. No merchant ID check stated. Euro payout partners require KYC (Bringin: ID and utility bill).
All fees as published
1% per transaction. New users get a 5 EUR welcome bonus (plus up to 5 EUR more with a partner code). Euro payout via DFX: 1.2% total (1% Coinsnap + 0.2% DFX bank payout) plus a 1% DFX conversion spread. Bringin: 1% conversion plus 1% bank withdrawal fee.
Getting paid
Bitcoin straight to your own Lightning or on-chain wallet, or a connected BTCPay Server. Optional EUR to your bank via DFX or Bringin.
Limits
Max 1,000 EUR per payment. Bringin payout: min 11,000 sats, max 3,000 EUR per payment, 10,000 EUR monthly withdrawal (more with extra KYC).
Hardware
none needed (any device with a web browser)
Countries
No country list in the terms. Not for use where prohibited by law or in breach of sanctions. Euro bank payout only via partners DFX or Bringin (SEPA). Bringin is for personal accounts only, not companies.
Not confirmed
Shopify works through a manual setup, not a Shopify App Store app.
A Swiss app and payment gateway that lets you take bitcoin on any phone, online or by invoice, and either keep the bitcoin in your own wallet or have it paid out to your bank.
Setup
Minutes · ID check depends on how you use it
Fees
1% on bitcoin you keep, 1.5% on what is converted
You get paid in
Bitcoin or local money, your choice
Who holds the money
Payments go to your own wallet
Where
Most countries, not U.S. persons (see the excluded list)
Details and sources
How it works
Free Swiss Bitcoin Pay app on iOS, Android or as a web app; staff join by scanning an activation QR code and cannot send funds or see balances. Reads Bolt Card NFC payment cards (iOS and Android apps; web app only on Android Chromium). Optional Bitcoin Merchant Kit with a Bitcoinize Android terminal (NFC reader and receipt printer).
Setting up
Sign up with an account name, email, password and a payout wallet and/or bank details, and start accepting right away with no waiting period. No ID needed for unverified accounts up to the limits below. Higher limits need business verification (company extract, UBO ID, selfie, proof of address) or individual verification.
All fees as published
1% on what you keep in bitcoin, 1.5% on what you auto-convert to fiat (charged pro rata if you split). Lightning to on-chain conversion and miner fees for payouts to your wallet are paid by Swiss Bitcoin Pay. Manual bank transfers below the payout minimum cost 1 CHF / EUR / GBP or equivalent. 0% fee for the first 3 months when signing up with a referral code.
Getting paid
Bitcoin goes to your own wallet (hardware wallet, xPub/address, or Lightning address). Optional auto-convert of any percentage to fiat in 12 currencies (including CHF, EUR, GBP) paid to your bank. Bank transfers run daily at 0:00 UTC once the balance reaches 50 CHF / EUR / GBP (or 100 CHF equivalent for other currencies). On-chain payouts to your wallet run monthly by default (weekly or daily selectable); Lightning address payouts are instant.
Limits
Unverified accounts: 1,000 CHF (or equivalent) per day and 5,000 CHF per year (25,000 CHF per year if based in Switzerland). Verification lifts these limits. Note: on-chain payouts are batched (monthly by default), so funds wait with Swiss Bitcoin Pay until the payout date unless you choose daily payouts or a Lightning address.
Hardware
None needed (any phone or tablet). Optional Bitcoin Merchant Kit: BitBox02 hardware wallet, Bitcoinize point-of-sale terminal with NFC reader and printer, stickers.
Countries
Accepts clients from all countries except US persons and Russian citizens, and residents of a published list including Afghanistan, Belarus, Cuba, Haiti, Indonesia, Iran, Iraq, Latvia, Lebanon, Mainland China (Hong Kong and Taiwan accepted), Myanmar, Nicaragua, North Korea, Russia, Syria, Trinidad and Tobago, Venezuela, Yemen, Zimbabwe and several others. Company based in Neuchatel, Switzerland.
Not confirmed
Self-custody with a caveat: on-chain payouts are batched monthly by default, so funds wait with Swiss Bitcoin Pay until the payout date. Daily payouts or a Lightning address avoid this.
A paid subscription tool for bitcoin invoices, payment links, a branded checkout and a phone POS, with payments going straight to the wallet or account you connect.
Setup
Minutes · ID check depends on how you use it
Fees
$25 a month or $240 a year. Then 0% on invoices, payment links and point of sale; 1% (capped at $15) on WooCommerce and API
You get paid in
Bitcoin or local money, your choice
Who holds the money
Your own wallet, or an account the provider holds
Where
Anywhere except sanctioned countries
Details and sources
How it works
Point of Sale virtual terminal: enter the amount on a phone or tablet and hand it to the customer to pay with bitcoin or card.
Setting up
Zaprite sign-up needs only an email address. You connect your own wallet (xpub, or a Lightning node such as LND or LNbits) or an account at a provider such as Strike, Zebedee or Stripe, which may run its own identity checks.
All fees as published
$25/month or $240/year, 30-day free trial. No transaction fee on invoices, payment requests, payment links or POS. Transaction fees: event tickets 1% + $3, API 1%, WooCommerce plugin 1%, capped at US$15.00 per transaction. Monthly plan includes $25 of transaction fees, annual includes $300 per year.
Getting paid
Bitcoin to your own wallet. Zaprite does not convert bitcoin to fiat itself, but you can connect accounts (for example Strike) that convert, and take card or fiat payments via Stripe or Square.
Hardware
none needed (phone or tablet)
Countries
No country list published. Terms bar users located in, or controlled from, OFAC-sanctioned countries. Company based in Austin, Texas, USA.
Free, open-source software that takes bitcoin payments straight into your own wallet, with no processing fees and no middleman, run on your own server or on a third-party host.
Setup
A few hours · needs technical work · No ID check
Fees
0%, only bitcoin network fees
You get paid in
You receive bitcoin
Who holds the money
Payments go to your own wallet
Where
Anywhere
Details and sources
How it works
Built-in Point of Sale app that runs in the browser on any phone or tablet: keypad (Light) view, product list or cart view, with tips.
Setting up
Self-host on a cloud server or hardware, or use a shared third-party host if not tech savvy. Docs warn third-party hosts are a trust and privacy risk and a real host never asks for your private key. WooCommerce plugin needs PHP 8.0 or newer and BTCPay 1.3.0 or later. WooCommerce plugin page states 'No middlemen or KYC'.
All fees as published
0% processing fees ('Start Accepting Bitcoin Payments With 0% Fees & No Third-party'). Only normal bitcoin network fees. Third-party hosts may charge their own fees (unverified).
Getting paid
Payments go directly to your own wallet. No built-in fiat conversion confirmed on BTCPay pages (unverified).
Hardware
none needed (POS runs in any web browser; hardware wallet support optional)
Countries
Self-hosted open-source software with no merchant country restriction stated. Third-party hosts are listed in the BTCPay Server Directory (directory.btcpayserver.org, could not be opened, unverified).
Not confirmed
The BTCPay Server host directory could not be opened (certificate error).
No built-in conversion to local currency on BTCPay pages. Conversion needs a connected service such as Strike.
The merchant service of an Isle of Man bitcoin exchange: take bitcoin in store with an app, online with plugins, or by email invoice, and convert it instantly to pounds or euros.
Setup
A few days · ID or business check
Fees
1% on its Checkout page (its help center says to ask)
You get paid in
Bitcoin or local money, your choice
Who holds the money
The provider holds the money until it pays you
Where
15 listed countries, including the UK, Switzerland, Brazil, El Salvador, New Zealand and Singapore. Not the EU or U.S.
Details and sources
How it works
CoinCorner Checkout point-of-sale app on iOS and Android.
Setting up
Free business account via the merchant register page, then an onboarding team verifies the business: incorporation documents, articles, board resolution, proof of business address, and ID plus proof of address for each director, shareholder or UBO. Verification is required for all users under Isle of Man AML rules.
All fees as published
Checkout page states a 1% fee. The fees help article says businesses should submit an enquiry for merchant fees. Withdrawals: GBP bank transfer free with an eMoney account, otherwise 1 GBP (min 5 GBP); EUR bank transfer 1 EUR (min 5 EUR); Lightning withdrawals free; on-chain withdrawal 0.000035 BTC (about 15 minutes), 0.0000125 BTC (about 1 week) or free (about 1 month).
Getting paid
Funds land in your CoinCorner business account in BTC or GBP/EUR depending on your settlement setting; the price is locked for 10 minutes at checkout. Auto withdrawal to your bank can be set for GBP and EUR balances above a threshold.
Limits
Lightning withdrawals max 1,000 GBP/EUR each. Lightning deposits limited by network liquidity. Refunds are paid back in bitcoin at the current price for the same fiat value.
Hardware
None needed (phone or tablet app).
Countries
CoinCorner lists 15 supported countries: Alderney, Brazil, Cayman Islands, Curacao, El Salvador, Guernsey, Isle of Man, Jersey, Mauritius, Monaco, New Zealand, Singapore, Switzerland, United Kingdom, British Virgin Islands. EU member states are not listed. Not available in the US.
Not confirmed
Fee: the Checkout page says 1%, but the fees help article says businesses should enquire about merchant fees.
The CoinCorner WooCommerce plugin was last updated in 2019.
No EU member state is on the supported country list.
A UK card payments company whose terminal and online checkout also take bitcoin, so you can accept cards and bitcoin on one machine and one report.
Setup
A few days · ID or business check
Fees
Not published: ask Musqet
You get paid in
Bitcoin or local money, your choice
Who holds the money
Not stated by the provider
Where
UK
Details and sources
How it works
Musqet hand-held card terminal (Visa, Mastercard, Amex, Apple Pay, Google Pay) with a Musqet BTC / on-chain QR option you switch on in the dashboard. Also a full ePOS till for hospitality and retail.
Setting up
Terminal ships after your agreement is signed; activation is two taps. Musqet operates as an Independent Sales Organisation with regulated acquiring partners, so business onboarding checks apply; the exact documents are not published (unverified).
All fees as published
Not published. The site says cards are on "flat, transparent pricing" and keeping bitcoin has 0% conversion, but no rates are listed; contact sales.
Getting paid
By default you receive GBP. You can opt in to keep bitcoin (held on a dedicated Musqet BTC Lightning node for your business) or auto-convert to GBP, EUR or USD at a fixed rate with next-day settlement to your bank. Card funds settle within 24 hours.
Hardware
Required for in-person: Musqet card terminal (4G and Wi-Fi, 12 to 16 hour battery), month-to-month on hardware with no contract.
Countries
UK company (London); terminals ship anywhere in the UK. Other countries are not stated on the site (unverified).
Not confirmed
Fees are not published.
Custody is unclear: kept bitcoin sits on "a dedicated Musqet BTC Lightning node for your business"; who holds the keys is not stated.
A bitcoin payment processor for registered businesses with store plugins, hosted checkout, invoices and in-person payment requests, charging 1% and paying out in bitcoin or local currency.
Setup
A few days · ID or business check
Fees
1% typical, no monthly fee
You get paid in
Bitcoin or local money, your choice
Who holds the money
The provider holds the money until it pays you
Where
120+ countries, no list published
Details and sources
How it works
Create a payment request in the OpenNode dashboard and show the QR to the customer on any internet-connected phone, tablet or computer.
Setting up
Registered businesses only. KYB: proof of company existence, ownership and address, plus KYC for owners over 25% or a control person. Plugins need an API key from the dashboard; in-person needs no integration. Review time not published.
All fees as published
Typical processing fee 1% for payments and payouts. No setup, minimum, monthly or annual fees. No conversion fees. Bitcoin withdrawals: scheduled weekly on-chain free, instant Lightning free, instant on-chain 1%. Bank transfer fees vary by method and bank partner.
Getting paid
Keep bitcoin, auto-convert at a locked rate to local currency at the time of payment, or split settlement between the two. USD bank transfers: scheduled daily (minimum $500 balance) or one-time on demand.
Limits
Lightning: 1 satoshi to 5 BTC per payment request. On-chain: minimum 542 satoshi, no maximum. Refunds handled by contacting OpenNode support.
Hardware
None needed.
Countries
OpenNode says it serves 120+ countries but publishes no country list; terms bar sanctioned and prohibited jurisdictions. USD bank account and USD settlement are for U.S.-based businesses. Conversion quotes shown for USD, EUR, GBP, BRL, MXN, AUD, HKD, CAD. Regions beyond the U.S. are inferred from listed currencies, not a country list.
Not confirmed
OpenNode says it serves 120+ countries but publishes no country list. Regions beyond the U.S. are inferred from its settlement currencies.
Logos belong to their owners. Saturday Bitcoin isn’t affiliated with or paid by any provider listed. Fees and terms change: check the provider’s current terms before you sign up.
Your path to taking bitcoin
Decide: keep it or convert itKeep the bitcoin, or have it paid out as your local money. Most options above can do either.
Set it upPick an option that fits how you sell, and set it up at your counter, checkout or invoices.
Test a small payment and a refundPay yourself a few cents, then refund it, so you and your staff know how both work.
Get foundAdd your business to Saturday Bitcoin, or claim your listing, so Bitcoiners can find you.